LIVING IN A CONCRETE JUNGLE!

Today I woke up to a new day and my very first post here.What should I write about? I have too many thoughts waiting to get out of my head.The first thing I see when I look out of my window is highrise  apartments lining the street,infact everywhere I look I see CONCRETE structures.Yes,there’s a little grassy patch here and there  and a few trees along the roads,but where have most of the trees gone?There are laws here regarding tree felling,people are supposed to plant saplings…..but it will be a long time before they grow into huge trees. Such fine buildings all over and more being constructed.This is a residential area and having trees around would add to the charm of this place.I mean big huge trees.Why! they may even cause neighbours to live in harmony,trees are known to reduce aggression.  

All I see is huge homes and sometimes no space to even park a car-the car is parked outside in the sun,as there are more cars than trees.The home owners have fenced off areas around their home and planted ornamental plants on public land.Sure these gardens look lovely!But…..
Trees have been cut to make way for buildings of every kind,shops,homes…how very sad!  I’m no expert ,but why can’t we have more trees and fewer buildings?

Trees add value to our lives-they help in times of flood,prevent harmful uv rays from reaching us and cool the environment around us.Trees also help reduce our electricity bills for power companies use less water in their cooling towers.Air quality too is improved considerably as trees filter out pollution.The benefits are numerous and the sooner we realise this the better.I’ll leave you with a quote .

“I remember a hundred lovely lakes, and recall the fragrant breath of pine 
and fir and cedar and poplar trees.  The trail has strung upon it, as upon 
a thread of silk, opalescent dawns and saffron sunsets.  It has given me 
blessed release from care and worry and the troubled thinking of our 
modern day.  It has been a return to the primitive and the peaceful.  
Whenever the pressure of our complex city life thins my blood and 
benumbs my brain, I seek relief in the trail; and when I hear the 
coyote wailing to the yellow dawn, my cares fall 
from me – I am happy. ” 
–   Hamlin Garland, McClure’s, February 1899

 

 

Published in: on September 16, 2009 at 10:16 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://viewfromasia.wordpress.com/2009/09/16/living-in-a-concrete-jungle/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. great posting.


Leave a Reply

